What I’ve Been Reading: April 1

There are atheist nurses. To say otherwise is incredibly ignorant, to say the least. Thanks to Mike on Inspirational Freethought for calling this to my attention and writing a great response to it.

Flops of all shapes and sizes.

The death penalty, in my opinion, is not wrong in theory. In practice? Because it cannot be applied evenly and the guilt of the convicted party cannot be assured, I think it is terribly wrong. This is yet another example of why. Cameron Todd Willingham is another.

Skepchick offered a very basic explanation of Islam recently. It’s a worthwhile and quick read.

Taking Responsibility for Death” Living wills and discussions about end-of-life care are very important.

The grey area of medical treatment should be recognized. Patients and doctors shouldn’t be forced to follow what “the experts” say is best.*

Obama made an interesting proposal regarding immigration to change the way illegal immigrants with legal immigrant family members can apply for legal status. I’m not sure if it’s positive bias from the article, the fact that I’m tired, or that this is actually a good idea, but I like it.

Very long article on hazing at Dartmouth. Didn’t read the whole thing as I don’t feel like it right now. Maybe later.

I’m so glad I don’t live in Arizona. What is up with their legislature? They just seem to be full of bad ideas.

Naked couple, talking snake, prohibited produce** aka the Adam and Eve myth. Interesting video. Originally saw this on Mister Gradenko. I don’t think he necessarily understands a lot of what neoatheists say, but it’s still a great TED talk. Sidenote: Netflix just added a bunch of TED talks. So. Excited.

Zebra stripes… Insect repellant? Awesome.

The silliest country in the world.” (hint: not the U.S. in this article)

I still stop by the Dickinsonian’s*** website once and a while. This time I found a fantastic letter to the editor in response to a not-so-fantastic letter to the editor.

*I think “the experts” are the new “they.” “They say” was finally deemed to vague.

**astrobiologist? Is this a thing?

***Dickinson College’s student-run newspaper for which I wrote from my sophomore year until I finished college.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

