What I’ve Been Reading: May 15th

A friend from college is taking part in a blogathon for film preservation. Her post is about Buster Keaton and trains. It’s a bit long, but if you can lasso your attention it’s worth reading. Definitely enjoyed it!

Norway establishes church-state separation.

I have an old Nordicware platt panna (Swedish pancake) pan in the kitchen. It’s even got a wooden handle (whereas the currently available version of the pan is nonstick and does not have a wooden handle). I’m thinking I need to make some pancakes in the near future…

“AI: Stop Doing That!” I really enjoyed this post and the comments.

When the zombie apocalypse comes, our energy problems will be solved!!

Fining people for texting while jaywalking. I think this is a bit ridiculous. By all means enforce the jaywalking ordinances, but it’s a little ridiculous to fine/ticket people for choosing to walk while distracted.

Colleges and universities are waking up to the need to confront rising costs and inefficient structures.

Using math to fight obesity? Awesome.

Minnesota has more shoreline than California, Florida, and Hawaii combined. We don’t seem to have many qualms about letting dogs on beaches

OTC HIV tests? Sounds like a good idea to me, though the $60 price tag might limit its usefulness in some ways.

Ellen DeGeneres won an award named after one of my favorite authors (Mark Twain*). I think Ellen is pretty awesome, and I wish this article had more about her and the award and less about celebrity houses.

Awesome new satellite image of Earth? Check.

More on college costs and student loans.

the cost of tuition and fees has continued to increase faster than the rate of inflation, faster even than medical spending. If the trends continue through 2016, the average cost of a public college will have more than doubled in just 15 years, according to the Department of Education.

I’d like to add: wow, $120,000 in undergrad loans?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!

Paper cutout portraits by a Chinese artist. The epitome of combining traditional techniques with creativity, something the last 50 years or more (before the end of the Qing Dynasty**) of traditional Chinese art failed at doing. Chang Dai-chien also had a talent for combining traditional techniques with creativity.

*I don’t really have a list of favorite authors, so when asked to name favorites I frequently forget certain people. I’m not sure I brought Twain up at all when I was doing the Thirty Day Book Challenge.

**I’ve always thought it was a useful coincidence that the first Chinese dynasty was Qin and the last was Qing. Easier to remember – if you remember one, you can remember the other kind of a thing. I still forget, though. 😦

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading: May 15th

  1. Duke Mantee says:

    Thanks Amanda! I feel honored for the mention : )

Leave a Reply

