Taking Things for Granted: Post 4

I fell behind by a day, so I’ll be posting twice in one day.

I think there is a lot in our lives that we overlook and don’t value as we should. I met a lot of people in college with very close relationships with their fathers, for example. None of them seemed to realize how lucky they were (or how annoying it was for me to hear about fathers making them pancakes). I have a good relationship with my father, but it’s not a close relationship by any means. The only reason I mention this now is that this is the reason I’m writing these posts. I know many of you couldn’t care less about what I take for granted, but maybe you’ll realize there’s something you take for granted and don’t value highly enough.

I have been in a relationship with my boyfriend for nearly 4 years. For more than half the time we’ve been together, our relationship has been long distance. I know what you may be thinking – that’s not a “real” relationship. I could respond with strong, vulgar language. Instead I will simply say that the long distance has been off and on. I miss my boyfriend so much that it is exhausting at times.

Being in a long distance relationship with one I love so dearly, though, has taught me a lot. A lot that I think I take for granted. I have always been a relatively stable person, even as a teenager (a bit melancholy at times then – teenaged angst), but my relationship with B has strengthened my ability to get through emotional turmoil without ever completely breaking down or flaking.

Long distance is no joke – it is quite a commitment. That alone has taught me that I am capable of tremendous commitment.

I don’t want to enumerate everything long distance has taught me so I’ll just finish with one more.

I have really learned to enjoy the moment. I’m still quite a cautious person, but for three weeks straight this summer I went kayaking after work. You can’t just keep putting things off until tomorrow. We really have no idea when our last tomorrow or our last carefree tomorrow will be. If I regret anything, it’s that I didn’t spend more time with B my freshman and junior years of college, but it’s taught to seize more moments in my everyday life.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

