Learning From My Sisters

I procrastinate. Many of you are fellow procrastinators and understand where I am coming from. I wrote yesterday’s post four days ago and had hoped by now to have three more posts written to be published in the coming few days for my 30 day challenge. That is not the case.

Similarly a result of my procrastination problem (which, might I add, is not a term that describes me at work – if you are paying me to do something I do not procrastinate) is my lack of a list of possible topics for “things I take for granted.” I had a mental list when I wrote my first challenge post, but I no longer have such a list. Hopefully I can come up with something.

Part of my problem is that there is a lot in my life that I could potentially take for granted, but I do not. I already realize the importance many things played in making me who I am today. Listing those things that we take for granted is inherently difficult anyway because we are taking them for granted.

Today, I want to write about two important people in my life: my sisters.

I would not say I take my sisters for granted in the sense that I don’t appreciate our relationships – I do. I might say, though, that I take the advantages I had growing up with two older sister for granted.

Siblings in general are usually a wonderful thing to have. My sisters were and are incredibly valuable to me for more than just our current and past relationships. I’m not sure it is possible to explain the sheer breadth of what I learned from them. Directly and indirectly, playing with them, living vicariously through them.

Danielle and Raquel saved me from, I believe, a fair number of unfortunate experiences. They definitely saved me from rebellious behavior, having done enough of that for all four of us children* (my brother being the 4th sibling, although 3rd chronologically). Thanks to the stories they told me and the stories I overheard, the behavior I observed, the interaction between our mother and those two I was able to avoid many typical teenaged (and college-aged) misadventures and mistakes, but also able to learn from those misadventures and mistakes.

What a great gift to receive – learning so freely from the life of another. It is true that making your own mistakes can be a good thing, but it is no less helpful, I believe, to watch a close loved one learn and also learn from that yourself.

*I mean this in the most affectionate way possible, and it is a credit both to our mother and my sisters that they have grown up to be good, responsible people.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Learning From My Sisters

  1. Shutterbug Sage says:

    During our exchange earlier this week on a different blog post, I was going to say that you reminded me of my youngest sister, also the youngest of three girls. But I kept it to myself. Now that you write this about your two older sisters, I can’t help but share that with a smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

