The Multifarious Mix Returns (like Batman, but not as cool)

Men’s fashion from Greta Christina’s perspective – I recommend the comments in addition to what she writes. I also want to add a few things: cuff links and in a certain sense men are very lucky. One comment mentions that menswear is basically either formal or casual with little grey area in between while women’s clothing has a huge grey area. Slightly annoying when a man wants to be able to wear a wide variety of clothing at a business casual workplace? Yes. At the same time it’s extremely liberating. Every time I get dressed for work I have to think about whether or not it’s appropriate for work. Do I wear a suit? A skirt? Is this shirt dressed up enough even though it is, in all honesty, a t-shirt? Basically, I’m simultaneously envious of how simple it is for men and happy that I get more leeway to “express” myself, if that’s how you wish to put it.

From a comment in the above post I found a tie knot someone created. I thought it was kind of neat. On a side note, I’ve always been slightly envious that men get to wear ties. I know that’s strange, but when a woman wears a tie it’s generally not a wear-to-work outfit. I’m not saying I’d want to wear them on a daily basis, but I like options!

Just an f.y.i there may be missing “s”s on some words. My s key is being uncooperative.

Ouya!

I would have gone to this awesome event, but it’s muggy out.

I’d love to look through this list and discover how many of the books I’ve read, but I’m not clicking “next” 100 times on that website. -_- Also, I respect authors and all, but I don’t think they’re the best ones to ask about the best books of all time. And I hated Things Fall Apart.

I’m tired of the anti-milk people. Yeah, milk isn’t the miracle health-food the dairy lobby wants you to think it is. DUH. When someone selling oranges says they’re the best thing in the world and also convinces the government to say the same thing, do you believe them? I mean, get a sense of skepticism already. By all means if you’re having digestive problems try cutting out dairy products. Do controlled experiments until you figure out what your body doesn’t like – try cutting out dairy, then try cutting out gluten, etc. I love milk, and it has never once made me feel crappy. Coffee, on the other hand, makes me feel like crap if I drink it before 1pm. Milk isn’t evil, and the way we produce milk isn’t any worse than the way we produce meat and other animal products. If that’s your reasoning for giving it up, I expect you to not only go vegetarian, but also to stop eating produce grown on large high-production farms. I’m done ranting. My point is milk isn’t inherently bad.

Huh, I’ve missed sharing my many random opinions and rants with the world. My work life is devoid of such things. Avoiding controversy and all that.

Yay dogs! Having a dog (or, to a lesser extent, a cat) has a positive effect on the health of children.

California may have issues affording the costs of the Affordable Healthcare Act:

To ignore the cost is to be intellectually dishonest.

I know you all love semi-solids. Mushy tarmac, anyone? I’ve actually know that “tarmac” can get mushy and weird for a very long time. I played outside, even on very hot days, a lot as a kid.

Of course the economist is the only reasonable voice in this entire article, and I include the author of the article in that evaluation.

“Yes, it’s important for us to be buying more products that are made in the U.S.,” Moutray said. At the same time, “we have to recognize that we are in a global economy and so need to explore markets outside.”

Trade is an important part of the economy, and good allocation of resources often requires that we accept a lot of stuff cannot reasonably be made in the US.

I definitely expected to share more links with you, but I guess this will have to do!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

