Today’s Multifarious Mix: June 9th, 2012

Same type of posts, new name. I thought I’d try out the “Multifarious Mix” as the new title for my “What I’ve Been Reading” posts. Comments are welcome, but try not to be too harsh.

In other news, my posts are probably going to be fewer in the near future. I was just hired for a full-time contract position from now until the end of November (in other words: I got a job).

I’m always a little odd by how many different facets of the abortion discussion actually exist. I say discussion because I’m not so much talking about the debate (pro-choice or pro-life), but rather about the numerous and varied reasons abortion should remain a choice for all patients to be decided on privately. When abortion isn’t an option, the results can be heart-wrenching.

I’m not sure why I never saw this awesome web comic, but I love it. Welcome to science! Thanks for the link, Jigar! I’ve added the Bad Astronomer to my blogroll.

The90sLife on Twitter posted a link to an article featuring the work of Jirka. Photo manipulation to create life-like Disney characters? Awesome. My favorite is Aurora.

Whether it’s taking books away or basketballs, it boils down to the same thing: kids don’t substitute “better” or “safer” things for what was taken away. They switch activities. It’s not, “Oh, you took my basketball? I’ll just use this squishy ball to play a crappy version of HORSE,” it’s, “Oh you took my basketball? I’m going to take up protesting and activism that will annoy the crap out of the adults working at this school.” πŸ˜‰

Committing to your dog(s).

What do you do when the religious people in your life try to inject religion into your non-religious events? I mean, I was annoyed enough when David Petraeus kindheartedly said, “God bless you,” during my commencement ceremony.*

The Ugly Moose posts yet another funny story. I’m a little awed by people who can consistently make others laugh, especially if it’s in a thoughtful way.

“I believe I explained the American Civil War was in fact lost in 1865. No, the South isn’t going to rise again. Actually I find that really offensive, and I get the impression you might be a racist.”

I still don’t like sesame seeds, so I didn’t really enjoy the spicy cucumber salad I made today.

*As much as it bothered me, he said it in the least condescending manner I’ve ever heard. Like he truly believed he was saying something really wonderful to us. Still bothered me because my graduation ceremony was supposed to be god-free – not by any guarantee, just that they have a separate Baccalaureate ceremony for that stuff.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Today’s Multifarious Mix: June 9th, 2012

  1. fostrickson says:

    Thanks for reading my post! πŸ™‚ It’s the one about dogs. It isn’t at all about any religious sentiments (I’m not a religious person, and those aren’t even the vows we used when we got married) but about making light of how I actually ended up committing to my beasts.

Leave a Reply

