What I’ve Been Reading: June 4

Wow, it’s already June 4th? Where have the last 6 months gone?

I spent several hours out on the water in my kayak today. In fact, my new kayak is a major reason I haven’t been posting as consistently as I did, say, in March. That and the weather has been awesome lately.

For starters, go read these hilarious burqa cartoons. Of course, many are simultaneously disturbing and several aren’t so much funny as sad or plain disturbing.

Xeni on a NYT Times* article that angered her, although she calls everything except the opening line, a photo caption, and the headline “serviceable.” Her sort-of rage post was pure awesome.

Four men that planned to bomb the offices of Jyllands-Posten were found guilty and sentenced to 12 years  in prison for terrorism.

Don’t Cry for Standford Undergrads” – A very valid point that many of the students with terrible debt are those dropping out of college before getting a degree and those going to (predatory) for-profit schools. Man, had I gone to Standford I’d have less than $20,000 in loans. *sigh*

Fake weddings for fun? Sounds like my kind of party, especially when there are (good) underlying messages.

I don’t think I’ve read much from this particular author in the Economist, but I’m hoping that the tremendous sarcasm and satire I seem to be sensing is truly there. As for the topic of the article – Bloomberg’s soda ban deserves its own blog post from me.

Two thirds of new mothers have trouble breast feeding. My sister, who is a mother of two, was talking about the various reasons mothers give up on breast feeding the other day.

Educating middle school students about abusive relationships (and their healthy counterpart) is an attempt to educate before abusive relationships become a real problem. I have no idea if it will work, but I hope it helps.

New information regarding Amelia Earhart and her last radio signals makes me sad rather than anything else. It would seem she managed to land her airplane and call for help, but died anyway.

Finally, I’m still trying to think of a clever name for these posts. I’m still failing miserably to come up with anything.

*Ha, I say “Xeni” like I know who Xeni is. I don’t, but I liked her post.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

