Old Graveyard in Carlisle, PA

I thought I’d share some of the photos from the Old Graveyard in Carlisle. Most are just random photos of gravestones that I found interesting. The predominate reason I found anything worth photographing was the names on the stones, not because I recognized them, but because they were intriguing names.

This was one of the first stones I photographed. In the background is the Molly Pitcher statue nearly Molly McCauley’s grave.

I’m glad to live in a time when I will not be identified as so&so’s wife on my grave (or in anything else, really). Way to take away individual identity, old version of our society.

I rather liked the name “Foote,” but I have no idea why. Their stones were in good shape, too. Also note: even though Annie Gibson survived her husband by 28 years, she was still pigeonholed as “his wife.”

Many gravestones were difficult to read because they are so weathered. This one was difficult to read because of that and because it is the marker of an infant’s grave.

4 months and 11 days is all the time this baby lived in this world. Both of these infant graves were within the same family’s area. I know it was a long time ago, but poor family and poor infants. All the money in the world didn’t save children in the 1850s.

I liked Lulu’s name. She lived a fairly long life and was identified as herself, which may mean she was an “old maid.” I don’t care, it’s nice to see.

The Brightbill’s had their own plot marked off with Bs. I like the font they chose for this stone.

There was another family plot marked off with Ms.

I thought “Craighead” was a rather amusing last name. Okay, I laughed.

This stone struck us because of the second name, “Millard Fillmore Thompson.” I suppose “Millard Fillmore” may have been a popular name, but I am related to the former President, Millard Fillmore. It’s probably clear, then, why this struck my mom and I. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find much information about the name.

The Foughts have a tough old name befitting soldiers. I believe several in this cemetery had indications of being veterans.

Nearby the Foughts are…

The Comforts!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

