What I’ve Been Reading: May 14th

So… non-battery powered toys are better? Yeah, we’ll go with that.

I opened Skepchick Quickies, and every single link sounded interesting. Of course, there were only four, but this doesn’t happen often. Anyway, you’ll probably get all of them below.

Mayim Bialik is anti-vaccine. I’m rather disappointed by this because up until now I thought she was a pro-science, phd-holding celebrity that also acted on one of my favorite shows (Big Bang Theory). On another note, the author simultaneously takes Bialik to task and explains why not vaccinating hurts more than just the voluntarily unvaccinated (“Mayim is freeloading on the system and weakening it at the same time.”). I loved the comment pointing out that even when polio was a live-virus vaccine and thus carried a risk of contracting polio, people got their children vaccinated.*

From that article, I found this. It’s a heartbreaking account of the death of Roald Dahl’s daughter from measles. There was no reliable vaccine at the time of her death, but he makes a case for vaccines. I did do a quick fact check to make sure this was real.

I don’t really think this study is going to cause an increase in the use of IUDs in the US. Wider insurance coverage would do that, as would greater inclusion in sex ed classes. When I was in school, the IUD was covered very briefly and incompletely.

This is an odd Jezebel piece about a documentary on pedophilia. It’s not exactly information-rich (yes, I know, it’s not a news article), but interesting none-the-less.

I love Joss Whedon. And now I need to go see the Avengers.

This was horrifying, but also enlightening. Forced sterilization isn’t something most of us think about often, especially when it doesn’t refer to something the Nazis did.

Interesting take on the costs of higher education, calling it all a bubble. Not sure I agree, but it’s definitely worth a look. When it comes to commetns…I definitely don’t like when people claim the European system (think Germany) will work in the US. European countries and their governments operate much differently than in the US. For this country to adopt, say, a German system would require a huge amount of investment as well as tremendous changes to our school systems, and some sort of (successful) propaganda campaign to change the attitude of the entire country.

Media myths – this one is about “real-life Barbie.” There’s not much evidence to suggest she’s trying to look like “real-life Barbie.”

*I do have to say that there’s more than just an anti-science issue here. There are major trust issues in the United States these days.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading: May 14th

  1. Jimi says:

    I really enjoyed the Men In Tech article on SkepChick today. While I have no idea of it authenticity, it did cast an interesting light on the topic of harassment in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

