Jjajangmyun and Pickled Daikon

I made jjajangmyun again today, but this time I took pictures. I’m not going to add yet another recipe for this dish to the many already on the internet, but I will share a couple of photos and the links to the recipes I used. In addition to jjajangmyun*, I pickled some Asian radish and carrot (then forgot to take a picture of the finished product – oops).

The first thing I did was to cut some radish and carrot into matchsticks. This is what I pickled.

After doing this, I tossed the matchsticks with some salt and sugar and put them in a colander.

Left to drain into a bowl, the matchsticks release much of their water. After a while, I squeezed out the water, put them in a jar, and added a brine.

While the radish and carrot were draining, I started chopping up the vegetables.

After an onion made me cry, I put the first group of vegetables in a heated wok to stir fry. The onion and zucchini are added after the first group has cooked a bit.

Stir frying!

After stir frying for a bit, water is added and the wok is covered. When the veggies are cooked, fried black bean paste, a bit of sugar, and a starch slurry is added.

Once that’s mixed up and you’ve made the noodles, you get the delicious finished product!

I prefer my jjanjangmyun in a bowl with chopsticks and a spoon, but my family ate it off of plates with forks. I served it with the pickled radish and some kimchi. Thanks for bearing with my not-so-great food photography! I need some inspiration for a more interesting post. Suggestions are welcome!

*If you care: I added a tiny bit of salt, some red pepper flakes, and a bit of ginger to the black bean sauce. I also included carrots in my vegetables.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Jjajangmyun and Pickled Daikon

  1. Donald Miller says:

    I wish I could stop by and try it out. It looks kind of scary to me, but you like it, so it must be tasty. I don’t think–well, actually, I know–that I’ve never had Korean food before. I love Chinese buffets!

Leave a Reply

