Photos from Bodega Bay and Sonoma County

I haven’t been feeling very inspired to blog lately. When I wrote for the op/ed section of my college’s student newspaper I often had periods when I didn’t decide what topic to write about until 5 minutes before I started writing (which was often about an hour or two before “deadline”*).

Anyway, I spent Thursday-Saturday of last week traveling and staying in Sonoma County, California. All of Thursday was spent traveling and then recuperating in the pool and hot tub at my hotel. Friday morning I woke up, did a little bit of preparation for my interview, and drove to Bodega Bay, about 30-45 minutes from where I was staying. My interview was Friday afternoon. Saturday was full of traveling and not much else.

You may have to click on the blogpost itself (and navigate away from my main page) to see the featured image – a panoramic of the Bay. One thing my point-and-shoot camera does well: panoramic photos!

I wanted to share a few photos from the Bay with you.

That was my shadow. I took a photo of myself, but I prefer not to share that. 🙂

I couldn’t pass up a chance to take a photo of a giant metal dog. Awesome, no? This was on the road to Bodega Bay, but I took the picture on my return drive.

I’m a little disappointed that I couldn’t keep my hair from making an appearance here. Otherwise it’d be a great photo!

I wonder how many people share my fascination with tides? Definitely not something I grew up around.

Minnesota has 90,000 miles of shoreline, more than California, Florida and Hawaii combined.”

Not an inch of that shoreline is subject to tidal forces.

The spray of the waves looks great in this photo!

Waves. 🙂 Took several tries to get a decent shot.

Just a general shot of the beach and surrounding area. I definitely enjoyed walking along the beach, and it took my mind far away from my impending interview. Just what I needed!

Possibly my favorite photo of the day.

A little surprised at how well this photo turned out.

*Deadlines were flexible for me because I always turned in an article no matter what. Basically, I stuck to the deadline as much as possible, but eventually realized the angry e-mails about missing columns were definitely not directed at me. At which point deadlines became flexible things – I’d simply send a quick e-mail letting my editor know when she** could expect my column.

**One thing that made me happy about Dickinson: student involvement was pretty balanced between male and female. There were both male and female editors, although while I was a writer the Op/Ed editor was always female. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Photos from Bodega Bay and Sonoma County

  1. efratadenny says:

    Nice series of photos..

Leave a Reply

