Thirty Day Book Challenge #28: Last book you read

That is a very good question. I think the last book I finished was Persuasion by Jane Austen.

I used to really love that book. I guess to my 16-year-old mind the thought of being separated from the one you love, pining for them for 8 years, and ending up together again seemed romantic. Now it just seems idiotic and wasteful, but I still love the book, if in a more detached way.

Austen’s characters in Persuasion are wonderful. There is a biting humor behind several of them. It’s a very enjoyable book, even if the love story isn’t as fantastic as some others. It gets better upon rereading.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

