Thirty Day Book Challenge #25: Favorite book you read in school

Great Expectations. Everyone around me seemed to hate it, but I really enjoyed this book. Possibly contributing to me enjoyment was that I don’t remember having to discuss it too much. It’s possible that I blocked out the in class discussion.

I read several Mark Twain books in school, but I felt like we talked them to death. They were more enjoyable when I read them on my own. It’s not that I dislike discussion, but I don’t really like discussions with an entire class.

When I was in 11th grade, we read books for extra credit in my world history course. We then met outside of class near a coffee shop and discussed the book we read. Usually there were between 5 and 10 students – I found that far more interesting than any class discussion I’ve ever had (even in the discussion in the detective fiction course I took in college*).

Great Expectations was the first Dickens book I read in its entirety. I found the story interesting, and I just all around enjoyed the book.

*Seriously, there’s only so many times someone can call something “cultural tourism” before you want to make them shut up.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Thirty Day Book Challenge #25: Favorite book you read in school

  1. Cassie says:

    I really liked Great Expectations as well because of Miss Havisham. She was such a brilliant character.

Leave a Reply

