Thirty Day Book Challenge #22: Book you plan to read next

Finally a question I can answer easily:The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

A friend of mine (also named Amanda*) Tweeted about seeing Sonny Lacks a few weeks ago. I googled the name, as she suggested in her Tweet, only to discover an incredibly interesting story.

Henrietta Lacks is “immortal” because a sample of her cells taken without her knowledge or consent was cultured in the lab and, because of the cells’ fantastic ability to survive, was sold by the billions for use in scientific research. I’m really excited to read this book.

*Fun fact: we were in orchestra together in high school and she was known as the Asian One while I was the White One – as is the Asian Amanda and the white Amanda. … I hope you find that as funny as I do.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Thirty Day Book Challenge #22: Book you plan to read next

  1. Amanda says:

    Oops, Amanda! I forgot to give you the book while we were at Applebees! I might be home this weekend and I can drop it off at your place if you’d like! Excited to see a post about this on your blog.

  2. MJ says:

    I always read that book title as “The Immoral Life of Henrietta Lacks” and think it’s horribly rude before I remember it’s actually “Immortal.” D’oh.

Leave a Reply

