Barbarians? Some Comments Are So Pretentious

The things people say! This one certainly isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever heard/read, but it’s not good. I often read comments at the end of articles that I finish. I’m not sure why I do this – maybe I am addicted to being angry at anonymous people? Ha.

I read NPR’s “The Religious Language in U.S. Foreign Policy.” I really enjoyed it, and I’m interested in the book, Sword of the Spirit, Shield of Faith.

Then I read the first comment (at the time is was the latest comment written) at the bottom of the page.

Other than Ron L’s belief that civilization needs religion and his claim that English Bible translations apparently played a large role in developing modern English, you might not see anything of interest at first glance. Then again, you might notice his use of the word “barbarians.”

Native western…barbarians? Who uses that term these days? It’s so pretentious. And given this part of his comment, the rest starts to sound extremely pretentious as well.

“Of course Christianity is important in our foreign policy, where would our language, our culture, our civilization be without it? We’d just be a bunch of barbarians.”

I know that’s not what he said, but it comes across as very superior. As my brother said, “High horse much?”

Sorry Native Americans, you are apparently considered native western barbarians even in this day and age. Oh, and did you hear? Christianity is teaching you how to read and bringing you science! Wait a minute…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Barbarians? Some Comments Are So Pretentious

  1. MJ says:

    I’m also addicted to comments on articles, it’s a reality check. I’ve had to cut myself off from YouTube comments, though. Those people scare the crap out of me, way more than the nutty people on political and religious articles.

    • I had never involved myself in Youtube comments until yesterday. I wholeheartedly regret doing so. Someone’sgod, those people are stupid! Must…stop…responding…

    • SciAwakening says:

      Agreed. YouTube comments are the worst. I have seen the dumbest flame wars in those comment sections. Thank goodness here at WordPress.com most bloggers are very thoughtful and intelligent in their conversation. Arguing on YouTube comments is like getting into an argument with people at the DMV.

Leave a Reply

