Just thinking women are nearby makes heterosexual men dumber.

I read this post, “Just Thinking Women Are Nearby Makes Men Dumber,” and thought, “But what about homosexual men? Did the study include them? Exclude? I need more details.” Then I clicked on the link to the study, and was pleasantly surprised. The study authors specify “heterosexual.”

I didn’t read the entire study, but I’m glad they specify. It shows a sensitivity to the indisputable fact that not all men or women are heterosexual. It also shows an awareness that sexuality may influence this type of behavior. Perhaps there is even recognition that not specifying “heterosexual” when talking about heterosexuals reinforces the idea that to be homosexual is to be strange or “not normal” in some way.

It’d be interesting to try the study with bisexual individuals as well as homosexual individuals and transgendered individuals. Would the presence of women affect a transgender woman? How about a lesbian cisgendered woman? Does the presence of women affect homosexual males? Does the presence of men affect homosexual males? I realize that would make the study very complicated, but I’m still interested in what the results would be. Studies including these groups might give more insight, as well.

My only other comment is that the post I read originally explains the study very poorly.

 

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Just thinking women are nearby makes heterosexual men dumber.

  1. SciAwakening says:

    As a heterosexual man I can confirm the results of this study. It is absolutely shocking how my mind gets taken over when I’m around an attractive woman.

Leave a Reply

