Santorum’s Expertise: Imposing your values on somebody else.

“Imposing your values on somebody else is definitely an area where Santorum is expert.”

The column this came from isn’t necessarily something I agree with 100%, though the author (Gail Collins) makes some good points. Mostly, I just wanted to share that gem of a quote that I found. Wonderfully funny, I think.

I have to admit, I’m not entirely decided on this whole birth control coverage fiasco. On the one hand, in at least one of my economics classes at Dickinson College we discussed the beneficial effects of similar policies on woman’s lives and I have a great appreciation for every effort made to improve the equality and freedom of women. I hate that insurance companies don’t always cover birth control under prescription drug plans. On the other hand, I’m wary of anything that infringes on religious freedom. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not convinced that this rule does, but I am not entirely convinced that it’s 100% free and clear of any violation of the 1st Amendment.

The more I read, the less decisive I feel. My gut says go with Obama, but I worry that I’m blinded by my desire for greater access for women in the U.S. to birth control. Any suggestions of reading material?

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Santorum’s Expertise: Imposing your values on somebody else.

  1. […] Santorum’s Expertise: Imposing your values on somebody else. (amandatheatheist.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

